It seems like everyone in our society is concerned about what they have and what they don’t have. It’s all about items. How big is your house? How nice is your car? Do you have the newest model? Where do you shop at? Where do you buy your kids’ clothes at? If it’s not the most expensive stores in the mall it’s not good enough. If it doesn’t have the biggest price tag it’s not good enough. Why does it matter though? Everything is temporary. If we buy $150 pair of jeans are we going to have them forever? No! When someone comes to our funeral are they going to say: “Such a shame, she had such a nice $6,000 couch.” ? No they won’t! It doesn’t matter what kind of things you have, it matters what kind of a person you are and what kind of a life you live.

I never used to care about material items until 7th grade. When I was in middle school I just got whatever made me happy. I didn’t care where my jeans or shirts came from. As long as I was comfortable I liked it! Until one day during an assembly these two girls in my home room turned around and asked me a question: “Are you rich, medium, or poor?” They asked “medium” I lied. I have always been poor, like dirt poor. We had what we needed, but we didn’t have lavish expensive things. This question started making me self conscious about my class ranking and I started doing everything in my power so people didn’t find out I was poor. I would run to the clearance racks at hollister and American eagle to find things with the names of the stores plastered on the front so people would know I shopped there. It’s sad that materialism starts at such a young age.

It recently occurred to me that no matter what type of items I had none of it would bring me happiness. I’ve always wanted a Michael Kors wallet. I was so hell bent on getting one. I finally go one for Christmas in 2016. When I got the wallet I was like “Okay now what?” My life wasn’t instantly changed, I still felt the same way. I wasn’t overcome with immense happiness. It was just like any other wallet I’ve had, just tens times more expensive. Then I started thinking about all of my shopping habits. “Why am I buying all of this stuff when it is no different from what other places are selling?” I asked myself. I finally realized that none of this matters. It’s hard to break the habit I’ve had for the last 7 years but I’m slowly working on it. I’m returning to my old roots of discount stores and second hand stores. It will pay off in the long run.

Moral of the story: Don’t focus so much on items or what you don’t have, be thankful for what you do have and work on the kind of person you are and how you treat people. You won’t be remembered for what you have or what you wear, you’ll be remember by the kind of a person you are and the things you’ve done in your life.

Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

